On Thursday, May 11, 2017 Panola College conducted its 79th commencement in the Arthur Johnson Gymnasium. The first ceremony took place at 5:00 p.m. followed by a second ceremony at 7:30 p.m. Panola College had the largest graduating class in their history with 315 degree and certificate candidates and 226 of those students participated in the commencement ceremonies.

grad2At the start of both ceremonies, Mr. Don Clinton, Vice President of Student Services, presented each graduating class of spring 2017 as Dr. Gregory Powell, President of Panola College led the processional of board members, faculty, staff, and students in to be seated while “Pomp and Circumstance” was played in the background.

Following the alma mater, sang by Panola College Chorale, and directed by Mrs. Sandra Bauer, Powell welcomed the assembled and gave opening remarks to the graduates. He then introduced the Panola College Alumni Association Chair and Executive Director of Extended University for Texas A&M University-Commerce, Dr. Berri O’Neal.

O’Neal recognized Dr. Sherilyn Emberton, as the 2017 Panola College Alumna of the Year. Emberton is a 1978 graduate of Panola College and is currently the President of Huntington University.alumnaoftheyear

Before the awards ceremony, Clinton certified to Powell and members of the Panola College Board of Trustees that the graduating students had completed all work necessary to graduate from Panola College.

Dr. Kathy Watlington, Professor of Foreign Languages, then began the reading of graduates and Powell awarded diplomas to all graduating students.

For the closing of both ceremonies, Mr. Freddy Mason, Dean of Liberal Arts & Sciences, gave the benediction, followed by Clinton leading the recessional to the closing instrumentals.

See more images of commencement at The Pony Express

Panola College is proud to announce the following Spring 2017 Honor Graduates:


Summa Cum Laude                          3.90 – 4.00

Anna Hope Crumbie, Nancy Dominguez-Aldaba, Morgan N Hamilton, Stephen Clayton Heath, Isaiah David Key, Ashley Nicole Layton, Martha Diana Moreno, Jessica Russell, Victoria Baptista Santos, Ashlee Paige Sloan, Courtney Lynn Townsend, Sara LeAnn Trahan


Magna Cum Laude                           3.75 – 3.89

Christopher Alexander Caudle, Summer Michelle Croley, Tezarea Secanze Derry, Shelby Leigh Dorchester, Sadie Elizabeth Edmiston, Brittany Blair Grissom, Jeanese Murdock, Ana Carolina Oliveira, Thomas Powell, Bryan Taylor Sanchez, Sara Jessica Sellers, Amber Weatherford, Caleb John Wilson


Cum Laude                                          3.50 – 3.74 

Jennifer Aguirre Garcia, Reagan Delane Anders, Daniel Benitez, Ursula Candy Betancourt, Kimberly Kay Bishop, Anne M. Buongiorne, Rebekah Anne Corley, MaKayla Ann Cummings, Morgan Ashlye Currie, Koy Cutrer, Jane Louise Drahem, Lorena Gonsalez, Laurann Ashlea Graham, Oscar Alejandro Guerrero Rodriguez, Billye Joan Harrison, Joshua Tyler Heard, Chelsea Kay Henderson, Victoria Syyan Hicks, Megan Paige Hogg, Juan Luis Jimenez, Nikki Lawhorn, Melissa Inez Mangan, Meagan Layne McCullough, Kimberly Chyenne McGuire, Jessica R. Millican, Sherrie Ann Mims, Diana Perez, Joel David Rathbun, Madilyn Gay Sanford, Kaylynn Elizabeth Trevillion, Taunya Vance, Magdalene B Yoerger